A conviction for 2 nd Degree CSC in Michigan has a high chance of going to state prison for up to 15 years, and even more if you're being charged as a Habitual Offender. Criminal Sexual Conduct 2nd Degree is among the most serious of all criminal charges in Michigan. You may also be subject to being on a tether for the rest of your life. Lifetime tether "electronic monitoring" is mandatory if Second Degree CSC is committed by someone "17 years of age or older against an individual less than 13 years of age. Registration as a sex offender begins immediately after conviction at the pre-sentence interview with the Michigan Department of Corrections, but the 25 years don't begin until after your release. Only talk to an Attorney who is experienced in defense of Criminal Sexual Conduct, and make the call right away.
Criminal Sexual Conduct 2nd Degree
Michigan Legislature - Section c
History: Add. June 1, ;-- Am. July 1, ;-- Am. This amendatory act shall not be construed to affect any prosecution pending or begun before the effective date of this amendatory act. Michigan Legislature User Menu. Printer Friendly.
Sexual Misconduct with a Minor in the First and Second Degree
We often hear that each of the degrees of CSC in Michigan have "multiple variables," which is just a fancy way of saying that that for each degree, there are multiple situations that can cause a person to be guilty of that crime. Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan involves an act of " sexual penetration " which can even include oral sex, believe it or not in conjunction with some other unique fact, or "multiple variable" that makes it illegal. However, the legal language can be a bit difficult to read and understand, so here are the Michigan Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct multiple variables stated in plain English - in other words, any act of sexual penetration is a crime if one or more of the following are also true:. You engage in any sexual penetration with a person who is at least age 13 but under 16 under 13 would be First Degree CSC , and 16 and older is legal in terms of age. You use force or coercion is used to accomplish sexual penetration, regardless of age.
If you or someone you know is facing allegations of a criminal sexual conduct in the second degree or a related charge, then you may want to know more about the charge and what it covers. There are more than a thousand criminal sexual conduct second degree offenses reported every year in the state of Michigan. When this occurs, you need an experienced CSC attorney who understands the seriousness of the situation and has the experience to get the charges reduced or dropped.